My Washing Machine Hates Me

19Aug08

Washed my exercise clothes, and the sports bra came out looking like a reject from a guerrilla fitness cell deep in the dangerous jungles of suburban America.

(That didn’t make much sense, but it was fun to type)

In all seriousness, my white sports bra is now a mostly-white sports bra with some rather alarming grayish green blobs and splotches in distressingly personal places.

Not that laundry failures are new to me. However, I would have thought that my jeans (over a year old and veterans of many washes) would be faded out at this point. They must have been holding back on some dye for this very moment.

Ah, well. There are worse conundrums to have on a Tuesday morning. Such as my complete and total lack of coffee thus far. I feel like I’m typing through syrup. Sooooo sloooowwwwwww *zzzzz*

Elliptical seems to be going well. I was kinda bad this weekend (pancakes and a coffee drink) but overall I managed to behave myself. I also made some of my favorite bowl pie, which is always fun.

Bowl Pie, for the woefully ignorant, is a pie without a crust, and thus eaten from a bowl. My favorite bowl pie is peanut butter bowl pie, which takes that really good peanut butter (the stuff that the label reads “Peanuts, salt” and nothing else), cream cheese, whipped topping, and a bit of honey to sweeten it.

Awesome dessert. And not just because it’s so delicious, but also because you can only eat so much of it before you need something to drink. Preferably a tall glass of milk. It rations itself.

I think I’ll try the elliptical with just music tomorrow. The podcasts are really good up until I don’t really care about what they’re saying, and my Shuffle doesn’t have a “fast forward” button.

Also, I’ve found that if I set the elliptical to go and then COVER THE DISPLAY (with a towel or something), I am less likely to glance down every ten seconds to find out how much time is left. I glance down, but I can’t see anything, so I just shrug and keep going.

Take that, Brain! Avast and En Guarde! Aha! *swishes rapier dashingly* Oho! *drops the rapier on her toe and then hops around, yelping not-child-safe-language*

5 Responses to “My Washing Machine Hates Me”

  1. I’m so sorry about your knee! Injuries are the most frustrating things in the world. At least you can use the elliptical. Do you have access to a pool? Pool running, while boring, is really good at keeping you in shape for the normal, wonderful kind of running.

    I need a combo of music + magazine to deal with the elliptical. I hate those things, but not as much as I hate the stationary bike.

  2. ;) bowl pie i had never heard of! Probably it would have been better if i hadn’t because you know one of these days i’m going to try it ;) Have fun on the elliptical!

  3. @Jess
    No easy pool access. None for my apartment complex, and the one in town has limited hours, most of which are taken up by children parents drop off to get a break.

    Which pretty much means I don’t want to be in there.

    I don’t have a gym membership, and don’t want the expense just yet, so swimming will have to wait.

    It’s going to happen someday though. I do love the idea of swimming, and I know it’s a great total-body workout, especially for knee injuries.

    How do you read the magazine? I tried reading a book, and the head bobbing and sweaty hands really made it uncomfortable.

    @Suz
    *laughs* Hey, minus the crust, and depending upon the filling, it’s actually pretty good for you. The worst thing in my peanut butter bowl pie is the honey, and it doesn’t use much of that. (Granted, you shouldn’t GOBBLE this thing, but a few tablespoons once a day is a much better alternative than cookies). With the oreo crust and the chocolate drizzle, it’s much less healthy. =]

  4. I’ve ruined a number of white Ts that way too. Sucks, and I have no remedy expect only washing whites with whites. Booo.

    Bowl pie sounds awesome. It’s okay to have dessert as lunch, right?!

  5. I sucketh at laundry AND had no clue what bowlpie was.
    methinks I live in a cave.


Leave a Reply

