INFJ – Guilty Pleasures

04Sep08

The Idea
So MizFit had a post recently about creating a Mission Statement for your fitness goals.

…what’s that, you say? That post wasn’t exactly “recent”? Hun, if I remember it, it was recent. That’s the rule. My memory’s bad enough that it’s mostly accurate, with the marked exception of being able to tell what movies are “new” and what movies were made before some of you were born.

Right, now that we’ve got that cleared up. MizFit recently *eyes the room suspiciously, ready to squash any signs of disagreement or objection, then continues* had a post about creating a Mission Statement for your fitness goals.

I thought it was a fabulous idea!

But being me, I couldn’t ONLY do fitness goals. I have all sorts of goals and plans and dreams and stuff in my life, not just Fitness-oriented.

And so began my descent into madness.

Definitions
First thing, of course, is to define things.

Dreams, goals, mission statements…what’s the difference, right?

First comparison – dreams vs goals.

A totally awesome and incredibly quote-worthy person said “Goals are Dreams with Timelines.” ~MizFit

So then how does a goal differ from a mission statement?

A goal can vary in size. Is your goal to get a totally ripped abdomen, or is your goal to have general over-all health? The washboard abs may be a part of the over-all health goal, you see, but that doesn’t make the smaller goal any less useful.

One might argue that the more specific goal is actually better, but I’m not here to judge goals. I’m here to chew bubblegum and kick ass…and I’m all outta bubblegum. (That was from a RECENT movie, folks.)

Anyway, so the difference between a goal and a mission statement is that goals can (and possibly should) be small, single-serving things that you want to accomplish.

A mission statement should be an umbrella which incorporates all of your goals into a single, poignant phrase or paragraph.

A mission statement shouldn’t have a timeline, because a mission statement should never go out of style. But unlike a dream, a mission statement is something you’re working to fulfill. A Mission Statement is a PROMISE, above and beyond all else, to yourself. What do YOU want to promise yourself?

Examples
So! Let’s take some examples, shall we?

I had a dream. I wish I was healthier and thinner.

I then turned that dream into goals. I will fit into size 12 jeans by the end of the year.

Obviously that can be refined, but for now it’ll do.

Now, I need to turn the dream and goal into a Mission Statement. I will eat healthier, exercise, become stronger and more flexible, and be more conscious about the decisions I make in my life and how they affect my life and overall health.

The mission statement keeps you going once your goal has been reached. So many goal-oriented people find they NEED something…a race to prepare for, a measurement to meet, and weight to achieve. The Mission Statement is going to keep me from needing those tangible goals, because I know what my overall purpose is. I keep it in mind and remember it whenever I feel weakened by donuts, or tempted by snooze buttons on my alarm.

I can say “Oh, well, if my goal of ‘the end of the year’ doesn’t happen, I can just push the date a bit.”

But it’s harder to deliberately do something that’s counter to my Mission Statement. “If I eat this donut, I am deliberately flaunting my personal promise to be healthier. What will the effects of the donut be?”

And the nice thing is, I can still choose to eat the donut. There’s a chance that I weigh the possibilities, and I decide that I will actually feel worse if I deny myself the donut. But I am aware of the consequences either way, and make an informed decision.

….

Bait and Switch!
None of which has anything to do with the title of this post. Anyone who has been reading me for a while has probably already figured THAT out.

So the fitness stuff was easy, because I already had that stuff on the forefront of my mind. I already knew what my goals were regarding my fitness and health, I just hadn’t put them into words.

The REST of my life is one great big muddle of confusion. I’ve got printouts and scribbled notes out the wazoo from WikiHow and other places, trying to figure out how to organize my life into neat little sections, and then develop goals and Mission Statements for them.

Funny how many cobwebs we find in our life when we shine the flashlight around and look in corners we usually ignore.

Through all of this, I found an article on How to Be Honest With Yourself that I liked, and it recommended I take a personality test.

And this, my friends, is where the title comes in.

Addiction
I love personality tests.

I do. It’s like an addiction. I love memes and “what star wars character would you be” and everything that even smells like a personality test. I love to learn about myself, and sometimes having a piece of computer code look at me with the same exact measuring stick it looks at everyone else gives me a more clear picture than rooting around in even the deepest nooks and crannies of my own head possibly can.

So I took the Kearnsey Temperament Sorter test. I remember taking this back in my Freshman year of college, but a lot has changed in my life since then, so I thought it’d be fun to take it again.

I got the same result, and as I read through the descriptions, I feel…peaceful.

Instead of focusing on how much I hate confrontation and that is something I need to work on, it’s mentioned that I don’t do well in stressful situations, hate confrontation, and will often build bridges and work to try and solve confrontations between other people.

Instead of constantly telling myself that I should stop doing things for other people, I can see that it’s common in my personality type, since we love to make other people smile. Doesn’t sound quite so awful put in that tone, and I stopped badgering myself and started actually analyzing my behavior to see if I took it too far, and tried to please people who were taking advantage of me.

It’s another perspective, another point of view. Another way to put myself under the microscope and try to understand why I do the things I do.

I’m an INFJ – and I don’t feel like I tried to sway the answers to make myself look better than I am. I feel really good about that test, and I plan on putting that knowledge to work in organizing my goals for the non-fitness portion of my life.

Confession
Hello, my name is Ninja, and I’m addicted to Online Personality Tests.

2 Responses to “INFJ – Guilty Pleasures”

  1. Hi NINJA (readers say in unison). Welcome to the group.

    Me? I’m addicted to list-making and ready bad diet fad books, which puts me in the trouble areas of having waaay too many goals and mission statements. :)

  2. @FBG
    oh, I’m totally with you on the list-making. Or, rather, the desire to make lists.

    I love empty notebooks. And containers. Things that hold other things.

    *hangs head in shame*


Leave a Reply

