NaNoWriMo

06Oct08

National Novel Writing Month.

Ever said to yourself “Some day I’m going to write a novel!” ?

Well, this is YOUR event!

National Novel Writing Month is when people all around the world hunker down and spend the month of November cranking out a 50,000 word novel. You cannot start before November first, and you must have 50,000 words by midnight on November 30th.

No genre is too obscure – if you think you’re writing a novel, they agree.

The point is to get your creative juices flowing harder, faster, stronger. Quantity is emphasized over quality, and much like the nike slogan, the entire point is to “Just Do It.”

So if you’ve been kicking around the desire to write a book – DO IT. Join NaNoWriMo. We’re all a little crazy, come be crazy with us!

This will be my first year, and I’m going to be writing a fantasy romance. Witches and wizards and fairies and bulging muscles, oh my!

If I disappear for November, you’ll know where I am!

(Also, since this is at least nominally a blog about my health and weight, here’s some relevant stuff)

1) Adding pepperoni to that dish totally saved it. Recipe below.

2) New recipe made, and holy cow is it awesome. It’s basically the base for enchiladas, only…well…sloppy, and less difficult. Loves me some easy recipes.

3) Another new recipe (we’re trying one or two new ones a week) for some italian spinach burgers that was just to DIE for! NOM!

Recipe of the week. I don’t do measurements. Cook from the gut! :

Drunken Italian Turkey

  • Turkey Tenderloin or chicken breast, cooked. If you like to marinate things, go for something with lemon, wine, or italian seasonings like garlic and oregano. If you don’t like marinating things, just cook it. Either Turkey or Chicken works, but make sure you’ve got bite sized pieces of cooked meat.
  • 1 small/medium onion, cut into forkable bits.
  • 1 green pepper (or other peppers, to taste. I’ll bet red peppers would be awesome in this), also cut into forkable bits.
  • A dollop of your favorite sautee oil.
  • Lemon Juice (More than a splash, less than enough to make your meat swim)
  • White Wine – enough to fill the bottom of the pan, but not let things float. (dry. Do not use nasty wine. If you don’t want to drink it, why would you want your food tasting like it? Remember, alcohol cooks off, so you won’t actually get drunk from this recipe. The name is ironic, not accurate.)
  • Pepperoni (I used a turkey pepperoni, but I don’t think it matters. Quarter for forkable size.)
  • Spices – garlic powder, oregano, basil, whatever you like to add to things that are a non-tomato italian flavor

Sautee the onion and pepper in a large, deep pan until tender crisp. Add in everything else (chicken, lemon juice, white wine, pepperoni, spices) and simmer for a few minutes, so all the flavors meld.

The sauce doesn’t thicken, so make sure you dip each bite in the sauce or use a spoon, so you get a good lemon/wine flavor with each bite.

The pepperoni adds the perfect “filler” to this, and makes it even more italian. The original recipe was Mediterranean something or other, so if you actually know what Mediterranean means, in terms of spices and stuff, feel free to tweak it so that you get more of that feel. “Oregano” says “Italian” to me, so I moved the recipe in that direction.

7 Responses to “NaNoWriMo”

  1. How many pages is 50,000 words? That sounds like a lot to me! I keep trying to get myself to sit down and write, and I’ve got a plot written out and gotten so far as to write the first page, but that’s about it…

  2. @Letho
    The average fantasy novel is between 80 and 100k words.

    Harry Potter was somewhere in the neighborhood of 70k words, I think. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy was about 50k words, and romance novels are often between 50 and 80k words.

    It is a lot. That’s 1,667 words per day, to meet the quota. Most people find that they have a writing speed of about 1,000 words per hour (depending on inspiration).

    It’s a pretty big commitment, but I think it’s worth it. I’ve known about it for two years now, and I keep NOT doing it because I tell myself I’ll slow down and write it properly. But…that’s two years where I haven’t written it!!

    So maybe I need a kick in the creative pants to get started, and this is as good an excuse as any!

  3. I love nanowrimo even if I dont end u p showing anyone what Ive generated!

    love the kick in the writing pants it gives me!

  4. @Miz
    Why not share?!

    Shareshareshare!

  5. Ok.

    Come over!

    It’s under my bed ;)

  6. Imagine my delight when I stumbled across your blog to find two of my interests combining in one post – delicious food and health tips, AND writing! I love it. I’m off to explore your archives. Happy writing, whatever it may be about :)

  7. @Miz
    *raspberry* What do you have to lose by posting it online? Unless you’re trying to get it published, that is. =]

    @Rachel
    Oooh, writer-twin powers unite! *checks out your blog* *random groucho marx eyebrow waggle*


Leave a Reply

